3 Baking Soda Hacks That I Use

Hey Girl!

Welcome back! One thing you will find out about me soon enough is I’m obsessed with life hacks. I guess it’s a useful obsession to have. Better than having an obsession on garlic I guess (lol).

This first beauty hack post is about no other than…BAKING SODA! It’s a common household ingredient. Baking soda is a sodium bicarbonate and it kills that nasty bacteria. My top baking soda hacks that I’m sharing with you today I have personally tried and I have personally seen incredible results.

With that, let’s get started!

 

SHOE FRESHENER

Face it. We have all dealt with stinky shoes (and feet) at some point in our life. That time in my life was between the ages 8-11. I can remember countless times taking off my shoes in the car and my fellow siblings crying on because the stench in the car was so strong. Yep, I was that child. The one who sprinted when the word shower was mentioned. The one who didn’t know her feet smelled so horrid and beastly.

Since that awful stage of my life I can’t go 36 hours without taking a shower. As I look back on things I could have done differently in my younger years, I would definitely … use BAKING SODA to tame that stench. I have many tips on how to get rid of the unbearable aroma, here are a couple of them….

  1. Wear the right shoes for the right activity’s– Common sense.
  2. Wash your feet daily-Wash with a good smelling body wash or shower gel.
  3. Wear cotton socks– They absorb sweat and let’s your feet breathe.
  4. Air your feet as much as possible-Get out of those stinky traps ASAP!
  5. Sprinkle baking soda into your shoes-Let it sit overnight. In the morning gently shake excess baking soda out.

Voila! Goodbye you little stinkers!

TEETH WHITENER

I cannot stress enough DO NOT USE WHITENING STRIPS! They might be good short term, but long term wise those strips will cause your teeth to become damaged and potentially can cause them to fall out.

I remember texting my friend and telling her my dentist recommended to use whitening strips. My friend strongly suggested using baking soda instead. I doubted it for a long time and didn’t test it out, but man, I wish I would have tried it earlier. Finally, after it popped up in my Pinterest feed about a million times and the hack had been recommended to me by several friends, I tested it out.

I recommend finding a good tooth whitening toothpaste (bonus points if you find a natural one) and sprinkle some baking soda on top. Do this 2-3 times a week. Be prepared for your toothpaste to taste a little different. I started in March and I have been using it ever since. It feels good to know that I’m using a natural remedy instead of using those strips that contain harmful chemicals. I highly (highly, highly) recommend this. I saw a dramatic difference and even passed the tissue test!

Simply dip or sprinkle baking soda on your toothbrush and toothpaste. Then continue with brushing your teeth normally. It’s THAT simple!

 

FACE CLEANSER

Baking soda kills bacteria, sooo…. put it on your face! It will clean out those clogged pores and make your face glowing! Simply take your daily cleanser and sprinkle some baking soda on top of it. and rub gently around your face. Let it sit for about 5 minutes then rinse thoroughly.

WARNING!

If you have sensitive skin you might want to avoid this. In the winter, my skin is very sensitive on the cheeks and the eye area. I change my cleansing routine to meet the needs of my skin around Winter time and that does include not using baking soda.

I hope you have enjoyed this post!

Make sure you follow me to get notified when I post new content!

Hope this blog brightens your day, and adds a little sweetness along the way!

XOXO,

Katelyn